What are Chakras?

The word chakra comes from the Sanskrit, meaning “spinning wheel”. In a sense, this explains the role of the chakras – rotating energy vortexes of incoming and outgoing energy (think of the in breath and the out breath) or energy moving from one
frequency to another in spiraling fashion.

chakras as spiral cones

Each chakra holds up to 12 energetic gateways. It is through these gateways that information and energy flows back and forth.

While there are numerous chakras, there are 12 primary chakras of your physical body, which are held in a central light pillar through your central column – soul star, crown, third eye, throat, heart – upper heart, lower heart, solar plexus, naval, sacral, base, link, earth star, earth heart.

12 chakras

Often you may even close down some of the gateways to avoid receiving information or energy from another person.

The information from your energy bodies is received through the gateways of your chakras and then is filtered to your mind, body and personality. They are also linked to sound, light and color.

When any of your chakras becomes blocked or unbalanced it will affect the others. Each chakra deals with different emotions and issues, therefore, it may cause blocks in your physical body including illness, disease, depression and emotional and spiritual problems in your physical reality.

The above information is a basic account of the chakras. There’s so many books on this topic if you’re interested in learning more. Here’s two recommended books below:

The Chakra Bible by Patricia Mercier

Wheels of Life by Anodea Judith


19 thoughts on “What are Chakras?

  1. Wow this is lovely. I knew of the 8 gates I never knew there was more. Hmm… going to read on the 4 new Chakra gates. Thanks for sharing.
    much love, George

  2. This is the simple explanation I´ve been looking for years. Thank you!
    I argue with my yoga teacher, I don´t feel any chakra or so…and I´m not sure if I want to 🙂
    Btw, 12? I had enough with 7. With the first one, actually.
    Also thanks for the recommendations.
    P.S. I didn´t forget the challenge 😉
    Hugs, David

      1. I swear it´s all true! Hatha yoga feels great, but I don´t feel energy flowing, or points or spirals. And I´m pretty sure I use to talk about seven chakras and seven colours. Maybe it´s a simplified version (or we missed something huge tranlating to spanish).
        Yes, you are right, it´s a nickname. A deformation of the spanish word for studious 🙂 Lisa asked me about it in my first interview, I think you will like the story 🙂 https://lifeofanelpasowoman.com/2016/02/20/saturday-evening-interview-12/

  3. What a nice, simple explanation.
    Not to make it complicated, but i read a lot into it because it relates so much to life.
    Open or not open – we control the doors of our consciousness. If we choose to close these doors, it may cause disease or sickness. Conversely, then, we can look at disease or sickness in our body to find which doors of our consciousness are closed or not operating properly.
    To be a true Light being, one must not only open the doors to Light, but must also know how to manage the energy coming in and out of those doors. This is a spiritual process.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: